Veyrra Character Redesigns

Posted over from the dev log on itch.io

I redid the character designs; some of them I only just finalised to a point where they could be designed (unfortunately being back and forth a lot I left characters on the back burner for MUCH longer than I should have) and many got a redesign due to being from RPG Maker content packs when they should really have their own individual look.

A brief word on character design: for video games especially, characters should be designed so they’re recognisable and the player can easily tell who is who at a glance (for instance, the PC should be different from NPC  and it should be clear what an enemy is)  I’ve noticed being around the RPG Maker community it seems like a lot of people don’t really put a whole lot of thought into their character design because they just go with the provided assets whether it actually works with their game or not. (there are also a couple games I’ve seen where it just looks like they pressed random on the generator and called it a day, when that really doesn’t make the best characters)

Anyway, on to the character reveals! (Spoilers ahead, for anyone that cares)

I’m gonna start with the important NPCs rather than the player characters (because some of them changed a lot more drastically and there’s more to reveal than the player characters)

​New sprite:

(I still need to add horns and wings, but this is pretty much what it’ll look like)

The only thing I’m actually changing is the original sprite I picked only has a front-facing version, which extremely limits its use. I decided to make a more generalised sprite for less important succubi, but I’ll probably still use the other.   ​

​​

New sprites:

​ ​ 

This is one of the reasons why I wanted to start redesigning the characters. A good portion of the characters I’ve been using come from  Ace’s  Dark Hero character pack​ that I resized. They weren’t horrible, but editing them in any way got to be a mess since they were already stretched from the size they’re supposed to be. Now, even though Fate doesn’t quite look the same as she did, I can change and add whatever details I want (which helps a bit, because she was one of the ones this was getting to be a bit of a problem with. Not to mention it’ll be a bit better having her be unique to this game rather than from a generalised pack that anyone can use)

New sprites:

  ​​

​​  Another one suffering from being from the Dark Hero pack​ (I see his used a lot, too) I tried not to deviate too far from his original design, but creating it this way is actually helpful since he’s supposed to be in section that takes place on Earth and I was racking my brain trying to figure out how to fix it so he doesn’t look so extremely out of place. Now I can just change his outfit slightly so it looks more modern day.

​Kain

New sprite:

​Kain didn’t get a name placard because I wasn’t entirely sure when I was first working on them how important he actually was. He’s probably going to be the NPC face of the teleport system, though (he runs a train and I don’t really want to make a huge world map, so I figure I can use that as a way somewhat around it) He’s supposed to be old and gruff, but that’s a little hard to get across with a sprite.

I didn’t actually change the Demon King’s sprite. ​It’s already a really cool looking sprite even though it comes from the Parallel Worlds character pack​ for MV. I think I can probably get away with using it for him since he’ll only be shown in the Demon Kingdom.

​Important Angel

​​

I hadn’t actually designed this character ​because he was supposed to be based off of Karael’s design, but I had problems with Karael’s original colors.  The only thing I haven’t done yet is add wings (which are extras, anyway. I may have that as an animation somehow instead of as a sprite) I’m leaning towards calling him Nuriel, though I’m still thinking of spiting this character.

​Now then. on to the Player Characters:

New sprites:

​I actually had made an MV sprite for Jason, but on looking at it again I realised the hair wasn’t quite right. His outfits were also some of the hardest to figure out how to put together (surprisingly)

New sprites:

 ​​

Ardien’s original sprite was in full armor, which didn’t really suit his personality. I may do a couple more outfits, but as of now this is what I’ll be using.

New sprites:

 

​Trish now has her own succubus sprite (I don’t think I’ll be adding horns to it, maybe wings, it depends on how I implement wings) Because of who she is, there’s definitely going to be more, but this is it for now.

​New sprite:

​​

I know I already made Karael in MV’s generator, but I never really liked the colors that much (I couldn’t exactly explain why) Besides, his original looked really simplistic next to the upscaled  Ace sprites (even though those had their details stretched)  Now he looks like he’s actually important and from the same place as everyone else.

And a new never before talked about or seen NPC:

Midori

​I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to do with this character, so I didn’t give him a name or design till now. He’ll share wares and stories where ever you find him. As far as anyone knows, he’s neither demon or angel. He’s never straightforward about where he came from, though.

Author: lemongreen

I'm a hobbyist indie game developer. I haven’t really had as much time to work as I’d like.

Leave a comment