Veyrra Update and other Information

Here’s a test video of the voice acting so far (it’s not entirely indicative of the quality that will hopefully be in the final game, especially since I still need to tweak the audio balance a bit)

A big thank you to  GamemastersXD,  SueshiRoll, and all the rest of the voice actors helping out.

I even (possibly) have an artist on board (they’ve had some real life stuff to deal with so I haven’t heard from them too much, but hopefully I’ll be able to share more with that soon)

Beyond that, I’m afraid things have been a little slow here on my end (and I don’t mean just because I haven’t updated in awhile) It’s mostly due to a few headaches and other personal issues that make it a bit hard to sit in front of a computer and work for tons of hours, but nobody really wants to hear about that.

I do have a few more maps done. the most significant probably being this one that will replace the path at the start of Jason’s first segment (there are still a few details I’d like to add/change, but otherwise this is pretty much how it’s going to look)

Garden

I’ve also been thinking about streaming the game development, but the major problem with that is my wi-fi isn’t always that reliable (it works, just not always at the speed promised) I could always just record in the background and edit down into a sort of highlight video, but that just adds even more to do which was why I was thinking streaming to either Twitch or YouTube would be a better option (I have accounts on both)

Also (since I don’t think I said it here) there’s a demo available that isn’t the Game Jam version (it’s slightly longer, has a bit more branching paths to it, and changes up the battle system from the Jam version. I’m hoping to have all the systems ironed out in the next month to put out a better fully featured version that’ll possibly function closer to the final version)

About the only thing I personally don’t like with the demo is the menu I put in, but that was due to not really having enough time or experience to implement the menu I actually want:

MenuTest It’s really looking like I’ll have to be the one to code it though, which just means I need to sit down and get into more than just the basics of JavaScript (thankfully I at least know some of it due to learning a bit of web coding, but this kind is… a bit different from that) If I do have to code it myself, I think I might edit the look a bit more like a mobile device (like putting the time in a top bar and having a battery meter) I might even have the bottom icon by the location and time do something. I’ll update on that as I get to it (I’ll probably be focusing a bit more on getting the story implemented)

EDIT: I forgot to mention the other stuff. I think I’m getting a little burnt out (which is bound to happen when you’re working mostly by yourself on a fairly dense project) so that’s another reason why updates have been sporadic. It’s another reason why I’ve been thinking of starting to live stream my progress so that people can see and hold me accountable towards getting things done.

I’ve also been thinking of possibly working on a smaller project for a bit. I know that might annoy or not make sense to some people, but I’ve found personally that if I really want to continue with a project it stays in my head (though I do still make sure to write a lot of what I want to get to down beforehand)

Author: lemongreen

I'm a hobbyist indie game developer. I haven’t really had as much time to work as I’d like.

Leave a comment